Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    All-American

Talking Male Cheer Leaders

When I was in high school during the bronze age, guys wern't worried about their masculinity as much and made really great (and I might add FUNNY!) cheerleaders. They were much more risque than the ladies are nowadays. Sometimes I feel like cheerleaders are so generic nowadays as to be invisible. La Grange had a terrific kid about 7 years ago who really got the crowd into it, but no one has the courage to do that now for fear of being labelled "gay". Too bad for the fans in my opinion.

We played Seminole (I believe that's who it was) last year, and they had a male cheerleader. It may have been at the Jr. High level though. He was able to throw those girls up....high!! I thought it was great. My 14 year old is a self-taught tumbler. He would NEVER even think of being a cheerleader. It most certainly has a stigma to it!!

[This message has been edited by Ranger Mom (edited September 16, 2002).]

eye of the tiger

The school where my wife teaches has 3 male cheerleaders, but mostly all girls now. When I was in HS(also in the bronze age) we had 5 males and 5 females. It was very competitive and like you say, no stigma.

*** Ejected Player ***

I honestly think its not the coolest thing for a guy to do.

Originally posted by qb12:
    I honestly think its not the coolest thing for a guy to do.
    I can't imagine why a quarterback would say a thing like that!

Designed and created by pirate44

ThaRealBulldog

I agree qb12, no one likes to see a male cheerleader on the squad, just the chicks.

It's me.....again!

We have had 3 guys (football players) in the past 2 years that have been given scholarships for cheerleading. They are good, but I understand where qb is coming from, I can't imagine my boys doing that - they are TOO MACHO!!

*** Ejected Player ***

Hahaha...I hope im not offending anyone but this is a football board.

eye of the tiger