PDA

View Full Version : Coach Pitch Vs. Machine Pitch

lange4
04-08-2009, 10:21 PM
Which one do you think is better for the 7-8 year olds. I can see both sides, but I believe that the machine gives more consistantcy for all the teams in the league. Coach pitch has more to do with what coach can throw the best strikes at a speed the kids can hit. By the way, the machine is set at 35 MPH.

Keith7
04-08-2009, 10:28 PM
I played in machine pitch when I lived in Lake Dallas but my little brother played coach pitch when we moved to Gainesville.. I like machine pitch better because throwing can be inconsistent when coaches throw.. Pitching machines also tend to throw a little harder and that helps the kids out too. That being said, I have also seen batters hit by a pitching machine while in little leagues so they aren't perfect.

Emerson1
04-08-2009, 10:31 PM
If I was a coach I would want to do it. You could throw harder to your good players and soft to the sucky ones.

GrTigers6
04-08-2009, 10:36 PM
When my kids were in west columbia playing little league they did coach pitch the first half of the year and player pitch the second half. It worked out well it even helped them move up to the 9-10 year old league better. as for the machine it seemed to be all over the place. Funny thing is when I was pitching to them we were 0-5 and when they pitched they were 5-0 so either i was too good a pitcher ( lots of strike outs) lol or really bad.:thinking: :D

lange4
04-08-2009, 10:39 PM
If you saw players hit with the machine you had a really bad machine or a coach that did not know how to position his hitters. And by the way, I believe all hitters can hit a flatter ball (thrown hard enough to not have much arch on it) better than one that is thrown soft with arc.

Keith7
04-08-2009, 11:02 PM
Originally posted by lange4