PDA

View Full Version : Big XII and SEC are the best conferences

headhunter
09-21-2008, 11:45 PM
4 from each are in the top ten!! pretty tough competition do yall think?

BobcatBenny
09-21-2008, 11:58 PM
Originally posted by headhunter
4 from each are in the top ten!! pretty tough competition do yall think?
I am a Tech fan, but ... really?

I think Tech is living off of the media's and coaches love of Howie and Chris. Any team that embarasses the media and the Long gene pool, in a decent bowl, gets some sort of special poll treatment the next season. :(

Obviously the media and coaches fail to realize that Tech can lose to anyone and very well might even take a loss in a bye week, if it were possible. ;)

big daddy russ
09-22-2008, 05:29 PM
SEC is the top dog (by a longshot) with the Big XII clearly in second (also by a longshot).

Consider this:

Auburn is a middling SEC program. We're ranked 15th, have a 3-1 record, are maybe the fifth-best team in a conference of 12, and we only have an outside shot at a National Championship. Right now, 'Bama, LSU, Georgia, and Florida are conference teams that look better than us while we may be a small step ahead of Vandy and South Carolina. We've beaten most of the teams we were supposed to beat by a good margin with the exception of our first conference game against Mississippi State. Our defense was outstanding, but our offense looked terrible during that game. Our body of work includes sizable wins against Southern Miss and Louisiana-Monroe, a close win against conference foe Mississippi State, and we were within a minute away from beating LSU, one of the nation's top teams.