PDA

View Full Version : By The Book

CenTexSports
08-27-2007, 08:09 AM
OK, another rules question (I know the answer).

When a team wins the toss, what are their options? Remember the topic title.

Gsquared
08-27-2007, 08:12 AM
Kick, receive, or defer option till the second half.

CenTexSports
08-27-2007, 08:16 AM
No

charlesrixey
08-27-2007, 08:19 AM
choose their end zone to defend?

CenTexSports
08-27-2007, 09:20 AM
Three options:

1) Which team will kick off.

2) Which end to defend.

3) Choose one of the above for the start of the second half.

There is no defer in the book.

Gsquared
08-27-2007, 09:21 AM
Originally posted by CenTexSports
Three options:

2) Which end to defend.

There is no defer in the book.
Dang, when I officiated I studied that book every year for 6 months.

Gsquared
08-27-2007, 09:22 AM
You will also find that there is no such thing as a "lateral" pass. Its either forward or backward.

mwynn05
08-27-2007, 09:23 AM
Originally posted by CenTexSports
Three options:

2) Which end to defend.

There is no defer in the book. #3 is defer

CenTexSports
08-27-2007, 10:10 AM
I was at a meeting Saturday with a group of officials that collectively had well over 100 years of experience (4 men). We read this rule several times and it does not say defer and the way it is written it appears that the choice has to be made when the original toss is made. I re-read it this morning and there is a way to see that the winning team gets to make that choice at the beginning of the second half. However I thought it was interesting that you choose who is to kick and not that you want the ball or want to receive the kick.

Gsquared
08-27-2007, 10:14 AM