PDA

View Full Version : Question for PhilC

Stats
11-22-2006, 12:06 PM
You mentioned the other day that you graduated from Freer High School. Just curious what year that was? My Dad coached in Freer years ago.

Phil C
11-22-2006, 12:07 PM
Stats I am a 1967 graduate of Freer High School so I was there from 1963 to 1967.

Stats
11-22-2006, 12:14 PM
Well , you and I are about the same age. My Dad coached there from 1949 to 1956. Ken Dabbs, Joe Holcolmb, Howard Harvell and many others. I was always with the team (Football and Basketball. Had some really good teams. Beat Nederland in QFinals (Coached by Bum Phillips) on penetrations in '55 I believe and went to the state Basketball Tourney the same year. Some great memories.

g$$
11-22-2006, 12:15 PM
PhilC: I spoke to Marty Akins & his wife last Saturday at a family wedding in Marble Falls. We talked sports & a few other things. I completely forgot to ask him about the movie in Freer, etc. I screwed up buddy! I did not touch the Drew Brees thing either.

Marty, his wife, & whole family are class acts. Always fun to visit with him. He had some interesting thoughts on today's game of football & his days at Texas. He was telling stories about Leaks, Campbell, & Clayborn, etc. I did not know he returned punts & kicks his freshman year either. 1975 All American QB at Texas, ran the heck out of the wishbone under Darrell Royal. Good stuff.

g$$
11-22-2006, 12:18 PM
Originally posted by Stats
Well , you and I are about the same age. My Dad coached there from 1949 to 1956. Ken Dabbs, Joe Holcolmb, Howard Harvell and many others. I was always with the team (Football and Basketball. Had some really good teams. Beat Nederland in QFinals (Coached by Bum Phillips) on penetrations in '55 I believe and went to the state Basketball Tourney the same year. Some great memories.