PDA

View Full Version : Personal Power Ranking for 30-3A for last year...

SintonFan
07-16-2002, 12:50 AM
Tonight, I had to do a compare and contrast essay for Art History and Composition. I was really bored and decided to try my hand at power rankings. I've got some statistical knowledge and have enjoyed higher math. My experience is drawn from the many electronics formulas I currently use and college physics (which I loved). This is a first attempt toward a power ranking system...

Power Ranking for 30-3A 2001:

Team: initial: w/opp.: final w/p-off:

Sinton 18.336 17.77 22.77

Mathis 7.61 11.372 14.372

AP -1.256 4.976 4.976

Ingleside 1.568 .057 .057

CCWestOso -15.848 -9.583 -9.583

Taft -10.194 -13.416 -13.416

Of course I'm looking for feedback from anyone. I mean anyone. Please, if the 30-3A guys can give me their opinion, it would give me some insight. We've (posters from 30-3A) have had a year to think about the results of last year. THIS POLL IS WEIGHTED FOR AN ABSOLUTE NORMAL TEAM AT ZERO. Please give me your opinion on whether this might be accurate with LAST YEAR in mind! The three scores are like this:
initial: all raw data for the season
w/opp.: weighted to reflect a team playing good or bad teams
w/p-off: weighted to reflect a team's success in the playoffs (this one needs some work and will be worked on)
Understand, that all opinions are welcome!

[This message has been edited by SintonFan (edited July 16, 2002).]

SintonFan
07-16-2002, 12:54 AM
This is, in no way, a point spread ranking. Although it could be adjusted for something like that.

Old Cardinal
07-16-2002, 12:09 PM