PDA

View Full Version : Male Cheer Leaders

Pudlugger
09-16-2002, 08:14 PM
When I was in high school during the bronze age, guys wern't worried about their masculinity as much and made really great (and I might add FUNNY!) cheerleaders. They were much more risque than the ladies are nowadays. Sometimes I feel like cheerleaders are so generic nowadays as to be invisible. La Grange had a terrific kid about 7 years ago who really got the crowd into it, but no one has the courage to do that now for fear of being labelled "gay". Too bad for the fans in my opinion.

Ranger Mom
09-16-2002, 08:19 PM
We played Seminole (I believe that's who it was) last year, and they had a male cheerleader. It may have been at the Jr. High level though. He was able to throw those girls up....high!! I thought it was great. My 14 year old is a self-taught tumbler. He would NEVER even think of being a cheerleader. It most certainly has a stigma to it!!

[This message has been edited by Ranger Mom (edited September 16, 2002).]

eye of the tiger
09-16-2002, 08:41 PM
The school where my wife teaches has 3 male cheerleaders, but mostly all girls now. When I was in HS(also in the bronze age) we had 5 males and 5 females. It was very competitive and like you say, no stigma.

qb12
09-16-2002, 08:43 PM
I honestly think its not the coolest thing for a guy to do.

sinton66
09-16-2002, 08:45 PM
Originally posted by qb12:
I honestly think its not the coolest thing for a guy to do.
I can't imagine why a quarterback would say a thing like that! http://bbs.3adownlow.com/ubb/wink.gif

ThaRealBulldog
09-16-2002, 08:50 PM
I agree qb12, no one likes to see a male cheerleader on the squad, just the chicks.

Ranger Mom
09-16-2002, 08:51 PM
It's me.....again! http://bbs.3adownlow.com/ubb/smile.gif