PDA

View Full Version : Marlin......No Character!!

TakeMeHigher
12-21-2003, 06:44 PM
As a coach, I was very disappointed with the character of the Marlin players late in the game sat. night. After they realized they were not coming back, they layed down. On one occasion, Atlanta ran back a punt for a touchdown, and the Marlin players were not even try to tackle the ball carrier. In fact, the Atlanta player jog the last nine yards. After the play, I looked back and about 4 or 5 Marlin players were laying on the field not getting up. And this was with about 8 minutes left in the game. Have some PRIDE. Quit walking on and off the field. Hell, your playing in the State Championship and you are showing no Pride or Character. Way to go Rabbits.

p.s. I am NOT an Atlanta or Marlin fan. I was at the game as a spectator.

VERNONLION#1
12-21-2003, 07:47 PM
HEY, TAKE ME HIGHER MAYBE YOU NEED TO COME WATCH THE VERNON LIONS PLAY. THEY WILL NEVER QUIT UNTIL THE LAST SECOND TICKS OFF THAT CLOCK. I WISH YOU COULD HAVE SEEN THE TEAM THIS YEAR(MAYBE YOU DID?) THEY WERE UNBELIEVEABLE.

Z motion 10 out on 2
12-21-2003, 08:18 PM
Yes, Vernon got beat by Atlanta 32-14 but believe me the Lions were throwing for the endzone as the time clicked of the clock. I was so very proud of those boys for never quitting. They gave it their all the entire game from start to finish. It almost payed off as Vernon was down 26-7, they came back scored 26-14 then kicked an onside and recovered it. But we fumbled but then held them anmd got the ball back and drove it to the Atlanta 8 yardline before going out on downs. That was with 4 min left in the game. Would have been interesting if Vernon would have scored and went for the onside again. Those young men had no quit in them. I hate to hear that Marlin did.

Also take note: Vernon is returning a lot of players including all of their skill players. It will be the 2nd year under a new head coach and I forsee good things again for the Lions next year.