PDA

View Full Version : Who killed Pilot Point football?

HighSchool Fan
04-22-2005, 06:34 AM
By Bill Spinks
Herald Democrat

A once-storied high-school football program has been torn asunder. Two coaches have already resigned, and more are facing a heap of trouble.

It's easy these days to bash Pilot Point, with all the dirty laundry that's been aired over the last several years.

Let's bash it some more.

With all the lawsuits, forfeits, underperforming seasons, overbearing boosters, transfer controversies, player mutinies, student vandalism and accusations of recruiting - and I'm just getting started - Pilot Point has become a microcosm of everything bad about Texas high school football.

Pilot Point's decline as a gridiron power has been a decade in the making, but the whole house of cards has fallen apart in a matter of a few weeks.

Newly-promoted head coach Mike Russell and his assistants were caught sending one another a series of e-mails that cannot be called anything less than patently racist and sexist.

Russell resigned three weeks ago, followed by assistant coach Darren Hall. Two other assistant coaches involved in the correspondence, Mike Segleski and Stephen Riddle, remain on staff - for now.

Right before that, Pilot Point was told by the District 6-3A executive committee it would have to forfeit a football game and its entire boys' basketball season for using an ineligible player whose family had moved out of the district. That ruling was allowed to stand by the University Interscholastic League on Tuesday in Austin.

The list of forfeited wins may grow. In Tuesday's hearing, more questions were raised about the family's residency. A monthly electric bill covering the early part of football season submitted for the rental property was for about $7, and a water bill showed only 10 gallons were used.