PDA

View Full Version : Fan behavior lands Milford (1A) on UIL Probation

KTJ
01-07-2005, 03:26 PM
** As a basketball referee, I hate seeing stuff like this. The behavior and attitude of SOME fans, players, and coaches has become unbelievable. I have had about enough. :( But the funny thing is that it's the stories I've heard from other buddies, not anything bad in my games. I don't know what the deal is. I haven't had a "bad" game yet this year, but you have to admit, stuff like this is becoming far too common.

Fan misbehavior lands Class A Milford on UIL probation

08:54 PM CST on Thursday, January 6, 2005

By JEFF MILLER / The Dallas Morning News

MILFORD – Misbehavior by athletes and fans usually is associated with urban professional stadiums or major college athletics. It's now an issue at a Class A high school in the southwest corner of Ellis County where the gymnasium bleachers are all of five rows deep.

Photos by IRWIN THOMPSON/DMN
The school's gym seats only 300, and some fans in Milford - population 685 - have found it difficult to contain their emotions. An incident at a Milford boys basketball game in early December resulted in a player suspended for seven games, four fans barred from games and one cited for disorderly conduct. Because it was the third Milford basketball incident reported to the UIL in three years, the state executive committee also placed the school's athletic program on probation for two years. A misstep during the probation period will result in an unspecified penalty.

A handful of schools are on UIL probation. But only little Milford – enrollment around 60, which plays six-man football and might not be able to field a baseball team this spring – drew the penalty primarily because of its fans. According to the UIL, two of the three episodes involved spectator misdeeds during or after games.