PDA

View Full Version : Best Jasper Team

YBS
12-06-2004, 11:18 AM
I rank this team #1, but 02, and 95 were strong teams. 96 was great too, but that's when I graduated so I'm biased.

spiveyrat
12-06-2004, 12:45 PM
I think the '02 team was the best. They just weren't ready for Burnet's style of football.

Hupernikomen
12-06-2004, 01:00 PM
I would probably put the 86 and 84 teams way up there..

86 put about 6 players in the swc and sec. get the years mixed up..I would call this the 04 team but they will graduate in 05...

Jody
12-06-2004, 01:26 PM
This is encourgaing to see. If the Jasper team that played the Yomen is a "best" team, then BH will whip them good....:D

Despite my fine tag line curteousy of Hupernikomen.... :D

P.S. WOS SUCKS!

:clap:

TigerShark
12-06-2004, 01:37 PM
Now we are talking.

I can't even start to compare these teams of the 00's with the teams of the 80's. Although the new teams are good and have went farther, I just think that the playoffs are watered down.
The Jasper team that beat WOS for district and then lost to WOS in the playoffs was for real. Coach Walkoviak had a team in the late 70's that went 9-0-1, did not make the playoffs and the team that they tied won the state championship. It was a Beaumont School, their record was 15-0-1.

I am a Newton grad and fan, but even though we won state in 98 and are playing for anotther, there is no way these teams can compare to the 82 team that tied Cameron and then lost to them on first downs. That Newton team had 4 D-1 players (Texas, TCU X2, and Arkansas) and later a SF 49'er.

Now you tell me, is the three team playoff system good or bad.
I think it is good, we have won a state championship in it and we are now playing for another. But, those great teams in the past have to feel gyped.

JasperDog94
12-06-2004, 02:18 PM
I'm going with the 86 dawgs. That was one awesome team. Got beat by a trick play that's now illegal.

Jody
12-06-2004, 02:56 PM
Originally posted by TigerShark