PDA

View Full Version : Going back to Burnet vs. Gainesville...

KTJ
06-01-2004, 05:27 PM
(I'm bored and don't want to do Spanish homework...)

So as a few of you know, I am a basketball referee in Austin. I ref Varsity, mostly 4A and 5A schools. But every once in a while, they give me a junior high game because as you know, basketball referees (actually, refs of all sports) are low in numbers--so some of us good guys have to go do junior high and freshman ball. :) ;)

Anywho, I was sent to Burnet Middle School and I got to talking with some of the BMS coaches. I mentioned how I was originally from Gainesville and we got to talking about the game. But one of the coaches said something that kinda stood out. He said how he, and the other Burnet coaches, weren't really that impressed with Gainesville from what they saw on film. But once they started playing on the field, they were really in shock.

Did other schools view Gainesville as the same way? Not very impressed early on?

3afan2K3
06-01-2004, 05:36 PM
Originally posted by KTJ
(I'm bored and don't want to do Spanish homework...)

So as a few of you know, I am a basketball referee in Austin. I ref Varsity, mostly 4A and 5A schools. But every once in a while, they give me a junior high game because as you know, basketball referees (actually, refs of all sports) are low in numbers--so some of us good guys have to go do junior high and freshman ball. :) ;)

Anywho, I was sent to Burnet Middle School and I got to talking with some of the BMS coaches. I mentioned how I was originally from Gainesville and we got to talking about the game. But one of the coaches said something that kinda stood out. He said how he, and the other Burnet coaches, weren't really that impressed with Gainesville from what they saw on film. But once they started playing on the field, they were really in shock.

Did other schools view Gainesville as the same way? Not very impressed early on?