PDA

View Full Version : Please help me out if possible.

keep_it_real
09-16-2002, 10:51 PM
Im a college student who wants to be a coach. I have a well understanding of the game and have had coaching experience with little league football teams. My plan is to major is Psychology, because the ultimate goal is to end up a sports psychologist. If you have any suggestions please let me know. Thank you

TarponFanInNorthTexas
09-17-2002, 12:37 PM
Where are you going to school right now, coach??? I'm a "soon-to-be" coach also!

I think a sports psychologist would be a good asset to any coaching staff. However, there aren't any secondary level schools (that i'm aware of) that offer Psychology as a course. If that class were available, then it would be no trouble at all.

But, if worst case scenario occurs, and you can't teach, it may be possible to be hired by a school district as a counselor/coach.....even though most are teachers/coaches, I don't see why you can't be a counselor/coach, you would be an employee of the district.

This is a tough one. There are a few coaches on the board, i'll ask them to come to the "coaching jobs" board and offer their advice to you.

[This message has been edited by TarponFanInNorthTexas (edited September 17, 2002).]

keep_it_real
09-17-2002, 07:47 PM
Hey, thanks alot I appreciate it.

TarponFanInNorthTexas
09-17-2002, 07:54 PM
Originally posted by keep_it_real:
Hey, thanks alot I appreciate it.

No problem, coach. That's what we're here for.

mwynn05
09-17-2002, 09:50 PM
good luck in ur coaching career

oldercoach
09-17-2002, 10:03 PM