PDA

View Full Version : Anthony Byerly

St. Ivender
10-25-2003, 11:25 PM
A very respectable Newtonian recently insisted that Mr Byerly had more yardage his junior year than his senior year. I graduated with Mr. Byerly and KNOW he had more yardage his/our senior year. The total was in the neighborhood of 3080 yards in 1981. He ran for roughly 2000 our junior year 1980.

Will some of you Newton followers and/or other football aficianados back me up to correct this wayward fellow who sometimes graces this board with his presence. Also websites with proof would help.

EAGLE89
10-26-2003, 01:55 AM
Hey, St. Anthony's senior year ('81) he ran for 3074 yards, according to www.sportsfansofamerica.com, (http://www.sportsfansofamerica.com,) www.nflhs.com, (http://www.nflhs.com,) and www.smoaky.com. (http://www.smoaky.com.) This last site also listed his career yardage @ 6,531yds., 384 yds. in single game against Crockett in '81 and 58 td's for his career.
none of these websites listed any stats for 1980 (that i could find), which would have been his jr. year. by the way, wasn't there a pretty good linebacket playing for crockett at about that time?

St. Ivender
10-27-2003, 09:04 AM
Thanks for the info. I hope my friend reads this post. The linebacker you speak of was Eugene Lockhart. He had graduated a few years (I think) before us but I remember looking up at the night sky after he put me on my back with a forearm shiver.

Wildcat81
10-27-2003, 12:03 PM
I remember playing agaist Anthony Byerly my senior
year 81.

St. Ivender
10-27-2003, 12:34 PM
My senior year ('81 season) we smoked Kirbyville pretty good 63-0 or so. I don't remember the score of the '80 game.

Bobkat
10-27-2003, 01:02 PM