PDA

View Full Version : Charge for Parking

Yoe_09
08-03-2016, 10:59 AM
Do any smaller schools charge that you know?

I have little to no knowledge in this area, but I always wondered why ticket prices weren't just raised to include a parking charge? Does it have something to do with the UIL getting more money off of ticket sales and not the school?

As an example, Cameron and Rockdale played a state quarterfinal game at Georgetown a few years back. That ended up being a total nightmare as hundreds upon hundreds missed the opening kickoff primarily due to the terrible parking system in place for a game of that magnitude. Traffic was backed up for miles.

briandumith*
08-03-2016, 11:07 AM

I have little to no knowledge in this area, but I always wondered why ticket prices weren't just raised to include a parking charge? Does it have something to do with the UIL getting more money off of ticket sales and not the school?

As an example, Cameron and Rockdale played a state quarterfinal game at Georgetown a few years back. That ended up being a total nightmare as hundreds upon hundreds missed the opening kickoff primarily due to the terrible parking system in place for a game of that magnitude. Traffic was backed up for miles.
Graham doesn't charge (we don't have parking anyway).. but some of the venues do charge that we have been to during playoff runs.. like (Aledo and Mansfield).I ask the folks from Aledo about this a couple of years ago. The guy I talked to said it was to cover the cost of the ISD holding the game there.. but I am not sure if he even knew or was just feeding me a line.. I know at Graham it is $5 for general admission tickets with no parking charge during the regular season.. and maybe 6 or 8 during playoff runs... depending on the place..

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Rabid Cougar
08-03-2016, 01:55 PM

That was idiotic and stupid. Never again in my opinion.