PDA

View Full Version : Jasper/Newton for state

nxman
10-30-2002, 12:13 AM
Hello - to everyone who posts on this site. I've been viewing this site for a couple of years and this is my first post. Not because I'm not interested in voicing my opinion, but because my job doesn't give me the oppurtunity to view it continuosly. So, I'm rarely at liberty to see all posts, much less make a statement. I'm not an ex-coach and certainly not an expert on the game. At any rate, I'm very much a fan of 3A football, especially Southeast Texas football. To start I would like to give some additional credit to the founders and administraters of this site. What a great job and what a class act! The cleanest and most respectable site I've seen! Now, enough of the mushy stuff, down to the nitty gritty.

Jasper is, in my opinion, the best 3A team in the state, and they will capture the title on one condition - Mitchell stays healthy and plays. I don't see anyone else in the state, even Evereman or Sinton, stopping them. They've also shown great composure with the surprising forfeit to Newton. I know this is old news by now, but Jasper will be the true district champs in 20 3A, even if it's not on paper, and Newton knows this! This fact should fire up both teams from this point on.

Newton may be the best D-2 team in the state. It's difficult to make a real judgement on them because their defense has really only been tested twice that I can see. Once against Jasper, and the other against Bridge City. Both of those teams are powerful offensive teams. They should meet in the playoffs, and it's a shame that one of them will lose. Newton has a tremendous defense, so all you D-2 prospects don't be fooled by the numbers Jasper put up against them. Beware of the Newton Eagles! They also have a tremendous offense!! All D-1 prospects beware of Jasper! The Dawgs are coming for you!!!