PDA

View Full Version : Willie and Family Live @ Billy Bob's

regaleagle
01-04-2015, 01:11 AM
It was on Saturday nite, Jan. 3rd and a replay that first aired back on 5/2/2004. His music lives and will never die.....I've been listening to it since 1974 as a freshman at SWTSU. It was that first year that Kent Finlay opened the Cheatham Street Warehouse in San Marcos, and I was very fortunate to listen in on the writers and musical artists of that day.....most of the time free because I was friends with Kent. Back in those days we had George(Strait) and his Ace in the Hole band playing there many times, ZZ Top Band would come in from San Antone, Alvin Crow, Asleep at the Wheel, Marcia Ball, Jerry Jeff Walker, Ray Wylie Hubbard, Waylon Jennings, Doug Sahm, Stevie(Ray) Vaughan-my age almost to the day, Augie Meyer, and many more but not the least of which was Willie. We drank beers together and talked about just about any and everything around Kent's table back then....and just about everybody back then somehow knew these were really special times in that ol' Honky Tonk in little old San Marcos by the railroad tracks. I never even thought once to get a picture or signature from any of these musical artists.....that's just the way it was back then. You just didn't do that if you were in the scene with them. I have a lot of old albums from the 70's and 80's, but I no longer have my old turntable and speakers.....remember those? I guess I need to go buy a new one and dust some of those old albums off, huh? There's lots of fine memories attached to those songs when I play them again. When I got married back in 83, my wife(originally from Albany,NY via Corpus Christi) added to the stack with her collection of original Beatles, Doors, The Band, and many more. I guess I have a fairly broad collection of classic albums.....even though maybe 20 yrs ago I let a bunch of the non-choice one go to a collector that went thru them, but I reckon he picked up some mighty scarce ones I d