PDA

View Full Version : Taxes

Saggy Aggie
01-22-2014, 09:16 PM
This is my first year dealing with taxes legitimately so i honestly don't know much.

My taxes seem somewhat complicated since I was a student through may of 2013. I then started working in June and have worked since. I know there are a lot of things that are tax deductible like interest on student loans, so I'm just trying to figure out whats the best way to maximize my return.. if I get anything...

I'm hoping I do since I claimed 0 dependents.. but ya never know with the IRS. Should I have a professional do it, or can i do something like H&R block or turbotax fairly easily?

regaleagle
01-23-2014, 01:15 AM
Sounds to me like you have a simple return. HR Block would be an inexpensive and efficient way for you to go this year. They can help you get back your overpayment quickly. You should have a refund coming back to you this year....just from what you have stated above.

LH Panther Mom
01-23-2014, 04:55 AM
I've never used Turbo Tax, but I'm sure it works roughly the same as H&R Block. It's not difficult & the questions are straight forward. You should be able to do yourself, but if you're not sure, you may want to go to someone. I've used H&R Block for years, through a relocation move where we rented out our first house & built another, then several years later when we sold the first house.

Saggy Aggie
01-24-2014, 09:23 AM
Is it a general rule that if you claim 0 exemptions, you will not owe in come April?

Farmersfan
01-24-2014, 10:17 AM
Turbo Tax online is very simply and most of the time it will be free. A simple 1040EZ is done by just answering questions. You can also set up a pin and then use them again next year and they will import all your previous information....

44INAROW
01-24-2014, 10:28 AM