PDA

View Full Version : Longhorn Netork-Mack Brown

Scoop27
10-23-2012, 03:13 PM
Texas coach Mack Brown once welcomed the Longhorn Network. Now he sounds as though it's become a headache and a window for opposing coaches to get an unfair peek into his program.

"I didn't ask for it," Brown said Monday, noting he's worried that the six hours a week he spends taping three television shows and the network's access to the first 30 minutes of daily practice may tip opposing coaches to player injuries, tendencies and schemes.

Brown said he and Baylor coach Art Briles discussed it before Texas (5-2) beat Baylor 56-50 on Saturday.

"It's in Waco. Baylor sees every practice," Brown said. "We're a little overexposed."

Brown talked about the Longhorn Network for several minutes before a media relations assistant stepped in to limit questions: Brown had to get to a network show taping.

"I'm a soldier," Brown said. "They tell me to go work with the Longhorn Network, I'll go do it."

It's not the first time Brown has expressed frustration about living with the cameras and crews that come with the school's 20-year, $300 million partnership with ESPN. But his comments at his weekly news conference were the harshest yet.

Texas and ESPN unveiled the contract for the Longhorn Network in January 2011, promising fans unparalleled reporting with behind-the-scenes coverage of one of the wealthiest and most prominent athletic programs in the country.

The move created a flashpoint of controversy within the Big 12 and was one of the reasons the league nearly split apart. Rivals Texas A&M and Missouri saw the network as creating an unfair recruiting advantage and financial boost that couldn't be matched.

Texas A&M and Missouri ultimately left the Big 12 for the Southeastern Conference and the split with the Aggies ended one of the longest rivalries in college football.