PDA

View Full Version : DI, DII, DIII, NAIA Colleges

defense51
05-25-2012, 09:22 PM
Can anyone 3ADL members in the know help me understand the differences in these four as far as scholarships (academic & athletic) and the athletic programs. My daughter has been contacted by a couple of DII and three DIII coaches about playing soccer for them. I new to this and in need of as much good information as I can get. Thanks for any info you can provide!

Gone Fishing
05-25-2012, 09:38 PM
Can anyone 3ADL members in the know help me understand the differences in these four as far as scholarships (academic & athletic) and the athletic programs. My daughter has been contacted by a couple of DII and three DIII coaches about playing soccer for them. I new to this and in need of as much good information as I can get. Thanks for any info you can provide!

My understanding, and I am a little new to it also, is that DI,II and NAIA can give athletic scholarships. DIII can not give athletic scholarships, but can get the athletes money through academic scholarships and grants and work study, etc. The DIII schools will be asking a lot more questions and verifications of grades and SAT and ACT scores, etc.

NastySlot
05-25-2012, 09:47 PM

NAIA not part of NCAA so different rules. Had few kids go play D2 that got a little scholly money for athletics but received more for their grades.

defense51
05-25-2012, 11:06 PM
I've been researching as much as I can, and read that DIII didn't offer athletic scholarships but had tuition assistance packages, so I'm guessing that's kind of the same just can't give it for athletic reasons only.

LH Panther Mom
05-26-2012, 07:44 AM
Division I: