PDA

View Full Version : Pro Baseball & Football Offers

Bullaholic
12-15-2010, 11:28 AM
I'm wondering if there will be a trend coming for good dual-sport college athletes to take pro baseball offers over pro football offers because:

1. Pro baseball players seem to be getting bigger long-term deals than pro football players.

2. Baseball has guaranteed contracts.

3. No salary cap in baseball.

4. Proposed Rookie NFL salary cap.

5. Smaller pro baseball rosters to share the wealth.

6. Baseball has strongest player union in pro sports.

7. Much lass injury risk.

If I was a pro caliber college athlete with dual-sport skills and about to declare, I think I would sure give baseball the first look
without question.

crzyjournalist03
12-15-2010, 11:35 AM
Originally posted by Bullaholic
I'm wondering if there will be a trend coming for good dual-sport college athletes to take pro baseball offers over pro football offers because:

1. Pro baseball players seem to be getting bigger long-term deals than pro football players.

2. Baseball has guaranteed contracts.

3. No salary cap in baseball.

4. Proposed Rookie NFL salary cap.

5. Smaller pro baseball rosters to share the wealth.

6. Baseball has strongest player union in pro sports.

7. Much lass injury risk.

If I was a pro caliber college athlete with dual-sport skills and about to declare, I think I would sure give baseball the first look
without question.

I think that baseball provides the best opportunity for financial growth and a long career, but some guys just like football better.

Take Riley Cooper as an example. He turned down a large offer from the Rangers after supposedly "agreeing to sign" and ended up on the Philadelphia Eagles.

LoboesWT
12-15-2010, 12:41 PM
Does anyone know the percentage of making it at the Pro level in both sports once drafted?

rangerjoe33
12-15-2010, 12:50 PM