PDA

View Full Version : Question....

ccmom
09-05-2010, 09:47 PM
Why do several posters (this season especially) tend to reply to my football posts in a manner that either implies or outright states I have no knowledge of the game? I noticed that on a couple other boards as well, and have wondered if my screen name did not so obviously label me as a female, if maybe then I wouldn't get these condescending replies, or sometimes no reply at all. There are other female posters on this board who don't seem to get so much of these kind of posts that allude to an idea that they are somehow clueless when it comes to football. Many of these kind of jabs come from posters who I have come to know on some level, and therefore I know they are just having fun with me and that's all well and good. Even the posters who I don't know, but are clearly trying to insult my football knowledge don't really bother me. I'm just curious... Do some people automatically assume "she's a woman...what can she know about football"? I'm truly interested in your responses. I rarely take anything on ths board too seriously. Besides, I happen to know I have played just as many downs of high school football as a good number of the male posters on this board. :D

bigwood33
09-05-2010, 09:52 PM
Originally posted by ccmom
Besides, I happen to know I have played just as many downs of high school football as a good number of the male posters on this board. :D
Now that right there's funny! I don't care who you are.:D

TheDOCTORdre
09-05-2010, 09:55 PM
In Texas, High School football is religion, so the Downlow is like a church. SO I can only assume this verse could directly correlate to your situation

1 Corinthians 14:34-25 states

34.The women are to keep silent in the churches; for they are not permitted to speak, but are to subject themselves, just as the Law also says.

35.If they desire to learn anything, let them ask their own husbands at home; for it is improper for a woman to speak in church.