PDA

View Full Version : 3A situation....Sad

XMan
05-26-2010, 12:35 PM
Im not going to say what school and use generic names to protect the innocent, but here is what happened. HFC/AD quits. School decides to name baseball coach, coach Smith, the new AD/bsb coach. Coach Smith calls in his 2nd assistant baseball guy, coach Newby. He tells Newby that he has been assigned head football coach. Newby replies, I have no football experience and only played in jr hi. Coach Smith says, "Oh it will be fine. You are a great baseball coach, you know how to motivate kids and work with parents. Besides, you will get an extra stipend. It will only be half of your baseball stipend, but its still extra money. You were my college roomate/baseball team mate, we will make it work. We have lots of footballers so you can have 3 teams. On top of that, ill give you 2 assistants, so each of you can have your own team." August comes and AD Smith calls a meeting w/all coaches. He decides that since offseason builds athletes, everyone would go through offseason and inseason practices wouldnt start till after school. School starts and during the period the guys lift weights on Mon./Wed./Fri and work on running the bases and foul poles, take grounders and BP on Tues/Thurs. (This is EVERYONE, not just baseball) However, on game days, the football guys can skip out. If they have a road game, they go jump on the bus. If they have a home game, they go to the field and make sure everything is ready for the game. The players have to mow the field, paint the lines and set up the yd markers and goal post pads. Football cruises along, team wins a few, gets 3rd and goes to playoffs. When the coaches come back from Christmas, coach Smith calls another meeting. He decides that baseball is a little behind schedule so when baseball season comes, they are going to start practice during the athletic period. The 75 or so football only players will get 1 coach and they can go run around and play flag football or