PDA

View Full Version : Friday Night Heroes

Backwoods
09-30-2003, 04:58 PM
Just thought I'd toss this one out. The next game you go to, think about it. Some of us are blessed with good teams and winning programs. Think of the other side of the coin. We hear a lot of smack talked and the bragging on good teams and players. What about those that aren't so good. They get beat almost every week many times 40+ to zip. Yet next Monday these courageous kids will be back on the field getting ready for Friday. There is no playoff in their future, only the satisfaction of giving their all. To me ( and I'm a veteran,) this is the American spirit at it's best. I like to think that we outscore them, not beat them. My hat's off to these guys and I hope they score big and often in life. You're my heroes.

cajun1
09-30-2003, 05:03 PM
I agree with you 100%... :D :D :D

Gobbla2001
09-30-2003, 05:23 PM
No doubt...

I know I rib 4A Calhoun a lot because of their football disabilities, but that's mostly because I was once a part of the program (7th and 8th grade) and couldn't understand why they were bad...

My step-bro played both his 7th and 8th grade year on the Calhoun (Travis Middle School) A team... They went 20-0 in those two years playing tough 4A competition (Bay City ring a bell?)...

That class never got over 3 wins in Varsity Competition and I just couldn't understand...

BUT, I respect each and everyone of those players who get on the field and lose almost every week... They love their football, and not even an 0-10 season will take it away from 'em...

They're all champions in my book...

EndzoneJR43
09-30-2003, 06:17 PM
I think this is the best post I've read in a long time. Thank you for giving recognition to the young men who haven't tasted victory or glory but yet they go out on that field every Friday night and give it all they got. Then like you said they go back to the practice field Monday to start over with all they have to give.